One of the most popular social media platforms currently available is Instagram and I think, the way it functions, there is no reason to dislike this platform. However, whenever you post anything on social media platforms, it is essential to maintain privacy. And in the context of privacy, sometimes, I try to hide or share my personal Instagram videos and photos with just a few select followers.
In fact, there are a few additional things you can do to increase the safety of your Instagram account. But, I figured, many people don’t know it can be done! So, if you are one of them, follow the steps outlined further in this article if you want to hide Instagram posts completely and do not want anyone else to see them.
Blocking an Instagram account
Before you find out the trick of hiding your posts from someone on Instagram, it’s important that you understand the concept of blocking an account on Instagram. If you don’t want someone else to see your past, present, or future Instagram posts or stories, blocking their account is one of the best ways to avoid them. On Instagram, when you block someone, they won’t be notified, but they won’t be able to find your profile, posts, tags, or stories. This is what blocking them will do.
- Their likes, comments, and tags will be removed from your videos and photos. A person’s previous comments and likes will not be restored if they are unblocked.
- Your public posts’ likes and comments will be visible to the blocked individuals.
- Although you will no longer be able to communicate with them, your chat threads with them will continue to be stored in your Direct inbox.
- None of the messages that the blocked person sends you will reach you.
How to hide my posts from someone on Instagram without blocking them?
Hiding your posts and stories from someone can have different ways for different kinds of accounts. If you’re following someone and they are following you back, the method has to be different from restricting an account that is not on your friend list. For the same purpose, we have mentioned a few different methods for you to try on and see what works best for you.
Method 1: Close friends’ list
The Close friend list is one of Instagram’s coolest features. You can only share your stories with a select group of people when you use this feature. Unfortunately, you cannot hide your posts using this feature.
You can accomplish this by visiting your Instagram profile by clicking on your profile in the bottom right corner.
- Select one of the three vertical lines.
- From the drop-down menu, select the “Close friend” option.
- You can now select the individuals with whom you want to share your private stories.
- Your friend list is now complete.
- You have the option of sharing your story privately with close friends.
- When you complete these steps, only those on your close friend list will be able to see your story.
Note: This method only requires you to hide your posts but not your stories.
Method 2: Private account
You can hide your posts from an unknown account or those that do not follow you yet by making your account private. You can set your account to private mode so that only your followers can see your posts if you don’t want the rest of the internet to see them. Navigate to your profile section after logging in to your Instagram account.
- Select Settings by tapping on it.
- Select privacy options from the drop-down menu.
- Switch to a private account and enable the On mode toggle.
- That’s all. Your posts and stories will now only be accessible to your followers because your account is now private.
Add only a few people to your follower list to keep it more private. Then again, you can likewise eliminate undesirable individuals from your supporter’s rundown to have better security.
Method 3: Restricting account
An account is not blocked when it is restricted. When you restrict someone, you prevent them from viewing your subsequent stories and posts. However, they will still be able to see your followers and profile.
- Look for the person whose profile you want to restrict.
- Select one of the three horizontal dots in the upper right-hand corner.
- Pick the “Restrict” choice.
- Reaffirm the same.
Method 4: Archiving posts
You still have full access to the images thanks to this method, which does not require blocking or restricting anyone.
- Look for the person whose profile you want to restrict.
- Select the post that you want to archive.
- Tap the three dots in the post’s upper-right corner.
- Select the “archive” choice.
Method 5: Removing them as a follower
Two steps are required to hide posts from someone without blocking them. You must first get rid of that person from your list of followers. Second, check to see that your account is set to “private.” To do the same, follow the steps below:
Step 1. Tap the icon with three dots when you open the profile you want on that account.
Step 2. Click on “Remove follower.”
Step 3. Tap the icon for your profile from the bottom bar now.
Step 4. From the screen’s upper right corner, tap the hamburger icon.
Step 5. Select Privacy from Settings > Options.
Step 6. Activate the Private account option toggle.
Step 7. To confirm, tap the Switch to Private option.
Does restricting on Instagram hide posts?
Your posts are not hidden from your followers when you restrict an account. Instead, it will limit the messages that the person sends to your inbox. Only you and the restricted person will be able to see their comments on your posts.
You can keep their activities out of your view without having to unfollow or block them with this feature.
If you want to restrict someone on Instagram, follow these steps:
- Access the restricted user’s profile section.
- On the profile, tap the next option.
- Select the option to restrict the account.
Simply undo the previous steps to unrestrict.
Can you limit who sees your Instagram posts?
Yes, the option that makes your account a private account makes it possible for you to limit the number of people who can see your posts and your activity on Instagram. You can control who sees your Instagram post and enable the Instagram post view limit through the private account feature. Your Instagram content will only be accessible to those who follow you, and no one else will be able to view it.
Can you hide your Instagram posts from non-followers?
Yes, it is totally possible to hide your posts from those who do not follow you. It can easily be done by switching your account to a private account. Public accounts are accessible by anyone without any restrictions whatsoever. The same is not true with a private account. People have to first send you a follow request, which, if approved, allows them to see the posts that you have put up on your Instagram timeline.
Can you hide the Instagram post from certain followers?
No, You can’t hide your Instagram posts from your followers, no. But you can get rid of the people from your follower list to whom you don’t want to show your content. By doing this, they would be taken off your list of followers and won’t be able to see your content.
How do find you your hidden posts on Instagram?
You can find your hidden posts on Instagram in the archived folder. You can reach the folder by clicking on the top right corner of your profile, which is the 3 bars symbol. You need to search for the option that says ‘archive’. Here you can easily locate all your stories and posts that are no longer visible on your profile.
How to unhide posts on Instagram?
You can unhide a post with the same number of likes and comments after hiding it in Instagram Archive. A post or image in the Archives is only hidden from the general public; It remains in place.
- It is as simple to unhide hidden posts from Archives as it is to hide them. Simply follow these instructions, and you’ll be good to go:
- If you have not already, launch the Instagram app and sign in.
- Select your profile picture from the right-bottom corner.
- Click on three parallel lines in the upper right corner after that.
- Click Archive, which is located just below Settings.
- Probably, the Stories archive will be your first view. Select the Posts archive option from the Stories Archive menu.
- The archive will contain all of the posts you have hidden. Select the hidden post by clicking on it.
- Select Show on Profile by clicking on the three dots in the upper right corner of the post.
- The post no longer appears in the Stories archive, indicating that it has been unhidden and is now visible on your Instagram profile.
We hope you were able to follow the steps to successfully locate hidden Instagram posts and understood how to hide posts from someone on Instagram. The post is now visible on your Instagram profile and you can ask questions about it as well as suggest topics for future articles in the comments section below the Stories archive.